In the 2013-14 legislative session the Minnesota legislature increased the weekly wage loss from $250 a week to $500. The question that has come up is when that change became affective. Insurance companies have done a number of different things. They have:
- Just started paying at that rate
- They have waited until the start of 2015
- They have waited until policies have been renewed
- They have hid and acted like the law was never changed
Legislative history indicates that January 1st should be the last possible date that the change should take place. While many laws go into affect August 1st of the year they are passed, this one seems to have given the insurance companies time to deal with the change.
These answers are not intended to replace a consultation with an attorney, nor do they take into consideration facts that may differ about your particular case. Here at the Legal Examiner, we have experienced attorneys who can deal with your individual questions and best help you with your case. Feel free to get the help you need by contacting one of us.
A founding partner with Bradshaw & Bryant, Mike Bryant has always fought to find justice for his clients—knowing that legal troubles, both personal injury and criminal, can be devastating for a family. Voted a Top 40 Personal Injury "Super Lawyer" multiple years, Mr. Bryant has also been voted one of the Top 100 Minnesota "Super Lawyers" four times.
Comments for this article are closed.